Globe Latitudes and Longitudes - Worksheets

 CBSE Worksheet 01

Ch-13 Globe Latitudes And Longitudes

  1. What time does earth take, rotating from one-degree longitude to next longitude?
    1. 10 minutes
    2. 15 minutes
    3. 4 minutes
    4. None of these
  2. What is meridian or longitude?
    1. The lines running from north pole to the west poles
    2. The lines running from north pole to the east poles
    3. The lines running from north pole to the south poles
    4. The lines running from east pole to the south poles
  3. The tropic of cancer and tropic of Capricorn is of:
    1. Capricorn is shorter than the Cancer
    2. Equal length
    3. A big difference between these two
    4. Capricorn is bigger than the Cancer
  4. The total number of meridians across the globe is ________.
    1. 360
    2. 90
    3. 181
    4. 180
  5. ________ marks the location of the equator on Earth.
    1. 0 degree
    2. 90 degree
    3. 180 degree
    4. 20 degree
  6. Match the Columns:
    Column AColumn B
    (i) IST(a) 0o
    (ii) GMT(b) 82.1/2o
    (iii) Arctic circle(c) 66.1/2o S
    (iv) Antarctic circle(d) 66.1/2o N
  7. Fill in the blanks:
    1. A hemisphere is one ________ of a sphere.
    2. The length of the latitudes gradually ________ from the equator to the poles.
    3. The local time of 82o30'E longitude is known as ________.
    4. All places lying on the same ________ have the same time.
  8. State true or false:
    1. Globe is a small model of the earth.
    2. The central meridian of every country is called the standard meridian and its local time is the standard time.
    3. The Equator is an actual line running on the globe which divides it into two equal parts.
    4. The Earth rotates from West to East.
  9. Define a latitude and parallels of latitude.
  10. Name and define the meridian which is considered as the central meridian of every country.
  11. How are heat zones formed?
  12. Why do we have the concept of time zone?
  13. How can the position of a place be determined?
  14. Define three heat zones of the Earth.

CBSE Worksheet 01
Ch-13 Globe Latitudes And Longitudes


  1. (c) 4 minutes
    Explanation: As the earth rotates from west to east, those places east of Greenwich will be ahead of Greenwich time and those to the west will be behind it. The rate of difference can be calculated as follows. The earth rotates 360° in about 24 hours, which means 15° an hour or 1° in four minutes.
  2. (c) The lines running from the north pole to the south poles
    Explanation: East or West lines of references are called meridians of longitude. Meridian runs a north-south direction. The distance between meridians of longitude is measured in degrees of longitude. These are semicircles and distance between them decreases while moving polewards and becomes zero at poles.
  3. (b) Equal length
    Explanation: The Equator divides the Earth into two equal halves. The tropic of Cancer is at the same distance to the north from the Equator as Tropic of Capricorn is in the South from the Equator. So their lengths are equal.
  4. (a) 360
    Explanation: Longitudes run north to south. There are 360 lines of latitudes.
  5. (a) 0 degree
    Explanation: Zero degrees latitude is the line designating the Equator and divides the Earth into two equal hemispheres (north and south). Zero degrees longitude is an imaginary line known as the Prime Meridian. Therefore, we are looking for what exists at the location where the Equator and the Prime Meridian cross each other.
  6. (i) - (b), (ii) - (a), (iii) - (d), (iv) - (c).
    1. Half
    2. Decrease
    3. Indian standard time
    4. Longitude
    1. True
    2. True
    3. False, Equator is an imaginary line that passes horizontally from the middle of the earth’s surface. 
    4. True
  7. Angular distance from the equator on both sides (North and South) is called latitude. All parallel circles from equator up to the poles are called parallels of latitude. Latitudes are measured in degrees.
  8. Prime Meridian is the meridian which is considered as the central meridian of every country. Unlike parallels of latitude, all meridians are of equal length. Thus, it was difficult to number the meridians. Hence, all countries decided that the count should begin from the meridian which passed through Greenwich. This meridian is called the Prime Meridian.
  9. Heat zones are formed because as we move away from the equator to poles, the climate also changes from hot to warm, warm to cool and cool to cold in both hemispheres. This is because the sun’s rays became increasingly slanting and therefore heating becomes less.
  10. The sun does not shine with the same intensity over all parts of the world at a particular time. If it is overhead at one place (midday), then it does not shine at all (midnight) at the place directly opposite to that place on the earth. So if we had one single time zone for Earth, noon would be the middle of the day in some places, but it would be morning, evening, and the middle of the night in others. Since different parts of Earth enter and exit daylight at different times, we need different time zones.
  11. We can determine the position of a place with the help of both latitude (horizontal lines) and the longitude (vertical lines). Latitudes and longitude together or a mesh called a grid. The point of intersection of a parallel and meridian gives the exact location of a place. The vertical lines represent the east and horizontal lines determine the northern latitudes.
  12. On the basis of latitudinal extent, the globe is divided into three broad heat zones as follows:
    1. Torrid zone: Between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn, the mid-day sun is exactly overhead at least once in a year on all latitudes. This happens because the sun rays come straight to these latitudes at least once in a year. So, this part of the earth receives the maximum heat from the sun. This zone is called the Torrid Zone.
    2. Temperate zone: Beyond the tropics, the mid-day sun is never overhead. This happens because the sun rays come at a slant in these areas. So, this part of the earth receives mild temperature. These zones are called the Temperate Zones.
    3. Frigid zone: Areas between the Arctic Circle and the North Pole and those between the Antarctic Circle and the South Pole receive sun rays at a big slant. Due to this, the sun is never much above the horizon. So, this part of the earth receives the least amount of heat and remains very cold. These zones are called Frigid Zones.