Working of Institutions - Test Papers


Class –IX Social Science (Working of Institution)

General Instruction:-

  • All Question are Compulsory.
  • Question No. 1 to 4 Carry one marks each.
  • Question No. 5 to 10 carry three marks each.
  • Question No. 11 to 12 carry five marks each.

  1. Which is lower house of Indian Parliament?
  2. Which is the upper house of Indian Parliament?
  3. How many members can the President nominate in Rajya Sabha?
  4. How many members can the President nominate in Lok Sabha?
  5. Write down the structure of Lok Sabha?
  6. Write down the structure of Rajya Sabha?
  7. How are the members of Lok Sabha elected?
  8. How can you say that the Lok Sabha is more powerful than the Rajya Sabha?
  9. How are the members of the Rajya Sabha Elected?
  10. What are the qualifications to become a member of Lok Sabha?
  11. Explain any five-major power and functions of Parliament.
  12. Compare both the houses of Indian Parliament in five points.

Class –IX Social Science (Working of Institution)

  1. Lok Sabha
  2. Rajya Sabha
  3. 12 Members
  4. Two members
    1. Lok Sabha is called the House of the People.
    2. It is the lower house of Parliament.
    3. There can be 545 members.
    4. Every Indian above the age 18 is entitled to vote in Lok Sabha Election.
    5. Lok Sabha is elected for 5 years. In any case, such extension cannot continue beyond six months after the emergency is lifted.
    1. Rajya Sabha is called the Council of the States.
    2. It is the Upper house of Parliament.
    3. It is not composed of more than 250 members.
    4. Rajya Sabha is an indirectly elected body.
    5. It is less powerful than Lok Sabha
    6. 12 members are nominated by President.
    1. The members of Lok Sabha are directly elected by the people.
    2. The entire country is divided into constituencies.
    3. Candidates of different political parties contest elections from these constituencies.
    4. The candidate getting maximum votes is declared a winner from each constituency.
    5. The winner candidate becomes a member of the Lok Sabha.
    1. Lok Sabha is more powerful than the Rajya Sabha in a money matter.
    2. The money bill can only be introduced in Lok Sabha.
    3. Ones the money bill is passed by the Lok Sabha the Rajya Sabha cannot reject it.
    4. The party or group which attains the majority in Lok Sabha forms the Government.
    5. Lok Sabha controls the Council of Ministers.
    1. The members of Rajya Sabha are elected indirectly.
    2. There are 250 members of Rajya Sabha.
    3. 238 members are elected the legislative assemblies of the states and union territories.
    4. All states have been allocated a fixed number of seats for Rajya Sabha.
    5. The Assembly members of all states elect members for Rajya Sabha.
    6. 12 Members of Rajya Sabha are nominated by the President from among Indians of exceptional achievement in literature, science, and arts etc.
    1. Person must be a citizen of India.
    2. He must have completed 25 years of age.
    3. He must not hold any office of profit under the Union or State government.
    4. He must possess such other qualification as may be prescribed by the parliament.
    5. No person can be a member of both the house of parliament.
    1. Parliament is the final authority for making laws in any country. This task of low making or legislation is so crucial that these assemblies are called legislature.
    2. Parliaments all over the world can make new laws, change existing laws, or abolish existing laws and make new ones in their place.
    3. Parliaments exercise some control over those who run the government.Any the public money can only spend when the Parliament sanctions it.
    4. The government can make laws only with the support of Parliament.
    5. Parliaments control all the money that governments have.
    6. Parliament is the highest forum for discussion and debate on public issues and national policies.
    1. The Rajya Sabha has the strength of 250 members; whereas the Lok Sabha has 545 members.
    2. The Rajya Sabha can introduce the only ordinary bill, whereas Lok Sabha can introduce both ordinary and money bill.
    3. Regarding any bill, Rajya Sabha has only recommending power. Its suggestion is not binding on the Lok Sabha
    4. The Rajya Sabha has no control over Council of Ministers; whereas the Lok Sabha controls the Council of Ministers by exercising No Confidence Motion.
    5. In case of any joint meeting of both the houses, it is the Chairperson of the Lok Sabha who presides over the meeting.