Legislature - Revision Notes

 CBSE Class 11 Political Science


Revison Notes

  1. In India, the parliamentary form of government is adopted at the centre by adopting bicameral legislature.
  2.  Legislatures are elected by the peopleand work on behalf of the people.The legislature is the center af the democratic political process.It is packed with action:walkouts,protests,demonstration,unanimity,concern and co-operation.
  3. The legislature helps people in holding the representatives accountable.
  4. In India, there are two houses of parliament-Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.
  5. The Rajya Sabha represents the states of India.It is an indirectly elected body.The elected members of States Legislative Assembly in turn elect the members of Rajya Sabha.Members of the Rajya Sabha are elected for a term of six years.They can get re-elected.The Rajya Sabha is never fully dissolved.
  6. The Lower House of Parliament is called the Lok Sabha which consists of 545 members.
  7. The members of the Lok Sabha are called Members of Parliament (MPs), who are elected on the basis of universal adult franchise.The Lok Sabha is elected for a period of five years.
  8. Two Anglo-Indians are nominated by the president ifhe feels that Anglo-Indians have not been represented suitably in the parliament.
  9. The Lok Sabha has a speaker who presides over its session.
  10. The Upper House of Parliament is called the Rajya Sabha having 250 members out of which 238 are elected by State Legislative Assemblies and 12 members are nominated by the President.
  11. The Legislature is to make laws for its people.A definite procedure is followed in the process of making low.
  12. The Vice President of India is the ex-officio Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha.
  13. The Lok Sabha enjoys the powers of making laws, to enact Money or non-Money Bills, approves taxation, budgets and annual financial statement, amends constitution, etc.
  14.  Rajya Sabha enjoys the powers to suggest amendments to Money Bills, exercise control over executives and can give power to make laws on matters included in the state list.
  15. The Rajya Sabha can approve the bill or suggest changes but cannot reject it.If it takes no action within 14 days the bill is deemed to have been passed.
  16. The Parliament uses the various devices to have a parliamentary control over its executives as financial control, deliberation and discussion, approval or refusal of laws and no confidence motion, etc.